Direct and Indirect Speech

One of my assignments and the last requirement before final exams in Stylistics subject is to research and study about Direct and Indirect Speech. So, here’s what I submitted… 🙂

 

Direct speech is a sentence in which the exact words spoken are reproduced in speech marks (also known as quotation marks or inverted commas).

For example:
“You’ll never guess what I’ve just seen!” said Sam, excitedly.
“What’s that?” asked Louise.
“Our teacher has a broomstick and a black pointy hat in the back of her car. Maybe she’s a witch!”
“No, silly! They’re for the school play!” replied Louise, sighing.

Indirect speech is when the general points of what someone has said are reported, without actually writing the speech out in full. It is sometimes called reported speech.

For example:
Sam was excited to see a broomstick and a black pointy hat in the back of his teacher’s car. He told his friend Louise about this and that he thought their teacher might be a witch. Louise had to point out that the things in their teacher’s car were for the school play.

Examples of Direct Speech to Indirect Speech

Direct Speech
1. “Today’s lesson is on presentations”, she said.
2. She said, “I’ve been teaching English for seven years.”
3. “My name is Lynne”, she said.
4. “How long have you worked here?” he asked.
5. He said, “I work in a factory”
6. They said, “we are going to cinema.”
7. He said to me, “do you like music?”
8. She said, “Will he participate in the quiz competition?”
9. George said, “I watched the vampire diaries series yesterday.”
10. Nina said, “I have studied hard for the final exam.”

Indirect Speech
1. She said yesterday’s lesson would be on presentations.
2. She said she had been teaching English for seven years.
3. She said her name is Lynne.
4. He asked me how long I’d worked there.
5. He said that he worked in a factory.
6. They said that they were going to cinema.
7. He asked me if I liked music.
8. She asked me if he would participate in quiz competition.
9. George said that he watched the vampire diaries series yesterday.
10. Nina said that she have studied hard for the final exam.

Leave a Reply

